mon

Off to Embra! I’m incredibly excited. And then I see how bald the left tyre on the left landing gear is, and I am suddenly less excited. I take a quick photo in the hope that my phone survives the crash and my widow can sue Ryanair for an indecent amount.

cof

I’m in Edinburgh! I am very excited once again!

cof

I am less excited. After 25 minutes of this near-hypnotic spectacle, I have almost lost the will to live.

mon

Yes, I am definitely in the Scottish capital. Jeez, I am excited!

mde

When in Rome…

001

Narrow table and big thirsts

002

Insto bursting with enthusiasm for the “I-blip-you-you-blip-me” session. He is praying that someone will put the shaggin cameras away and get their round in.

003

Phwoar! Look at the arse on that dog! M. actually had the reflex to capture the beautiful moment. Her shot is called Dog’s Arse with Pints. It will be in the 2019 edition of the RSA exhibition. You mark my word.

004

Will is unusually merry. I must try the Cabernet Gaviscon cocktail, it seems to lift the spirits.

005

“Hey folks, you’ll never guess where we are!”

006

The Teviot. A bad bad bad place, full of bad bad bad memories.

007

Anyone for a game of Spot the Minaret?

mon

Ha, Mr Smith! Eat your heart out. It’s not just a gig for oldies, there are some trendy young dudes in attendance too.

007a

“When I point the microphone this way, you do the singing, ok?”

007b

“Oops, shite, here comes a high note, I’ll tactically pull the microphone away a wee bit, no-one will notice that I can’t hit it. The high note”

mon

SlĂ inte mhath

mon

Before and after

000008b

Edin nose bag

008

Tactical pit stop. I just want to make sure that the young ones in the dorm in the Kickass get the full mememe2u experience

008a

Night flat

008b

 

008c

008d

Pish only?

008e

Falafel debate

008f

 

008g

Meh Pizzas. They are… well… meh.

008h

Take the bus. Or else…

009

Jack Nes wishing you all night night from the pod. The young ones are definitely going to get the full Guinness farts-kebab burbs package. Combined with the snoring, it is character forming. What doesn’t kill them makes them stronger! (Their parents will thank me one day)

010

Victory! I did not pee in my pod

010a

Photoshopped sky. Took me ages…

cof

Kickass kickass

cof

Lanterne Rouge. I suspect they were discussing cycling matters. Just a wild guess.

011

The Smithzer. He with the silky pug and shiny socks.

011a

The picturesque Waterside (when devoid of pissed middle-age muppets acting the bollixes outside)

011b

The obligatory swan shot

011c

The obligatory swan shot. With obligatory shallow dof.

012

The Moderation is strong with that one.

013

The reinforcements have arrived!

014

The reason why you should never leave your camera unattended when you go to the jacks…

cof

Middle-aged hooliganism

015

First game of Poke the Mobility Scooter.

016

“These pints are so small, I reckon we could have six each.”

017

“Two more, garcon!”

018

Drinking in the sunset scenery

019

My room for the night. It will look complete once the wild boar’s head is in position on the wall, above the telly

020

In my next life, I want to come back as a whippet.

mon

But knowing my luck I might come back as a pug…

mon

One-eyed Louis

021

The art critic

022

Checking his bank balance

023

Pickaboo

024

“Don’t move! The light is just right.” And it was too!

025

The picture of guilt!

026

“You ain’t seen me, roight?”

mon

Symphony of stripes.

 

027

Seamless transition

027a

027b

Upside down black Cornetto

027c

Almost Istanbul

027d

mon

028

029

030

031

032

033

Whatever happened to the Buckfast tradition?

034

Edinburgh circa 1902. Or was it yesterday?

034a

“The new Spoon in town! It’s got a posh extension at the back”

034b

Erected. Snarf, snarf.

034c

035

The Hoose with the Golden Door

cof

Moderatly moderate in my moderation there (thanks Red)

cof

Scottish pragmatism… when the defibrillator has been nicked.

036a

Stop it!

036b

Jason’s Liquid Gold Mistake Factory

cof

Time for the last pit stop

mon

Blue-blazing a trail of glory

037

038

039

The end is nigh

mde

Going… going… gone!

art, funny, photography, street photography, tourism, travel

A passion for moderation – Edinburgh 2018 in 83 photographs

Image

3 thoughts on “A passion for moderation – Edinburgh 2018 in 83 photographs

Leave a comment