activity park with a potato crisp theme, alvin and the shaggin chipmonks, art, dublin, dun laoghaire, ireland, monochrome, photography

We Wiil, we Wiil, love you!

IMG_8795

 

but it’s not a done deal… 

Jayzus, the erection of the Wii Library on the sea front is truly dividing the good folks of Dun Laoghaire. 

Between those who don’t like it and those who hate it. 

Rarely has such an uproar been witnessed in connection with the unveiling of a new building. Well, not since the last new building was unveiled. 

I must say that the aul Wii is growing on me. 

It’s a fine building. It’s a grand building. In five years’ time the Controversy will be but a distant memory. 

Will I use it? You bet your arse I will use it. I’m paying for it. I have a feeling that the view from inside will be great. 

Mind you, I don’t think that there is anything wrong with the current library. Good old little Carnegie library. Built at a time when billionaires did put something back into the community. 

Still, I should be grateful, it’s nice of Mr. Nintendo to give us the brand new Wii Library. 

IMG_8850

 

Standard

3 thoughts on “We Wiil, we Wiil, love you!

  1. I have to admit I love it, and especially like the view from the hotel, where it looks like a ship. I just hope they can integrate the cottage which is the site office at the moment, as the two together look bizarre.

  2. Manja says:

    Um, I think it looks like a sarcophagus with a breathing slits in its flanks. But no harm. It’s all about the books, anyway, no?

  3. I heard about it (at a meeting during the Dalkey book festival) before I saw it. They kept calling it the “monstrosity”. Last week I walked the pier in DL and finally had a good look. I wanted to hate it. I didn’t.

Leave a comment