bric a crap, dublin, dun laoghaire, funny, humour, hysterically happy, I'd be tempted to admitting to being superstitious but I prefer not to say it aloud, ireland, patience, seeing is believing

Screw you, unsmiley phone

wp_20160917_15_05_28_pro

I am more than a little bit chuffed with myself.
I managed to make a smart phone that works from two not-so-smart broken ones.

With the help of the Chinese guy from the New Paddy Electronics (phone unlocking, at reasonable prices), I have returned Mrs Raheny to connectivity and the joys of getting Whatsapp notifications every 3 minutes.

Her first phone she dropped in Don Mimi’s pizza, at a time when the kids were particularly odious (their way of thanking her for taking them for a pizza treat). That was a good while ago.

The second hone decided last Friday to display a blue screen with a rather pissed off unsmiley face. Not a good sign (the only worse sign is the blue screen with extended middle finger logo).

You’ve just got to love YouTube. Besides hilarious videos of pugs and kittens doing super cute things, there are videos for every sort of technical problem you can think of.

I am forever in debt to LE55ONS, a guy generous with his time and skills.

In the grand scheme of things, I have almost balanced out the destructive formative years of my youth.

Broken:
My first wind-up watch
My second wind-up watch
My first electronic watch
My third wind-up watch
My second electronic watch
My mum’s travel alarm clock
My first walkman
My mum’s Renault 19
My first Discman
My first MP3

Fixed:
My second 35 mm camera
A Philips portable DVD player (from two broken ones)
My mum’s DVD player and home cinema amplifier
Mrs Raheny’s Nokia 520 (from two broken ones)

Ongoing project: fixing the chord of the edge trimmer that I cut last week, while trimming the edge.

Standard

Leave a Reply

